Getting Paid

So I graduated college a few months ago and have been steadily working since. I've had an insanely busy summer which included getting on my first feature. I'm super happy to finally be out of school and pursuing my goals.

One major issue I've ran into though is getting paid. I've had plenty of work over the course of the past several months, some of which was work out of state, so staying busy isn't a problem. But some clients have yet to pay me 3 months after a job and it worries me I'm going to have this problem for awhile.

I'm losing my patience, but I am keeping it cool and am still polite with these people. I even delivered my product to one client about 10 weeks ago and they still beating around the bush when it comes to paying me.

I live in a smaller market where unions aren't a thing and people expect quality work for minimum wage prices.

Is getting paid in a reasonable amount of time an issue most people run into?

Thanks,

Jon.

The 3 most important things I've been told to look for on a work contract is:

-What you gotta do

-What you're getting paid

-And WHEN you're getting paid

Make sure that last one is extremely clear.

Also when hiring others, make sure there is something in there ensuring they are signing over the rights to their labor output for that specific project if they're doing recordings, drawings, writings, etc. If that isn't there, they have the ability to take you to court for using their work if they found themselves very displeased with you.

Now if a lot of these jobs don't have you signing on a dotted line, bring your own work contracts.

• Upvote 1

• Premium Member

Unfortunately, this is normal. It's a bit more normal in actual on-set work. Away from the camera, there's a tiny amount more regard paid to normal businesslike behaviour and basic professionalism, but if you actually want to work at the sharp end of movies this is how it is.